Rosa and Callejera

SEPTEMBER 18, 2010  – Gasoline Girl Rosa and her 1965 Ford Falcon

Let me tell you a little something about me and my little old car. My 1965 Ford Falcon has been in my family for nearly two decades. It was first my Uncle’s and then my Dad’s. It didn’t officially become mine until 2009, but I started claiming it as my own in 1997.

My interest in cars began my senior year of high school, when I decided to take an auto shop class. I wasn’t the first gal there, nor the last – but that’s where it all began. Shop class was fun, but with senior year going on and boys around I didn’t give it very much focus!

As high school finished, I continued wanting to learn the basics about auto mechanics. I was determined to see if had career possibilities, so I took beginners mechanics course at the city college. Not far into the semester, I got offered a job and dropped out. It was a tough decision, and I still regret dropping out, but it was either school or a job – and to fix a classic, I knew I needed a job.

By this time Falcon, also known as Callejera, had become my daily driver and continues to be. As the years have gone by, I’ve had more and more opportunities to work and learn on my car. Under the hood it still runs with the straight-six 200 cubic inch engine that’s been rebuilt, topped with a one barrel carb. From there she’s got a 2-speed cruise-o-matic transmission. She powers down the street with a cherry bomb exhaust and keeps her cool stance with 4” lowering blocks in the back. When I began carting around my two bundles of joy in the backseat, I decided to upgrade the interior. It’s been reupholstered from top to bottom with new headliner, rebuilt seats, carpeting, and black and red tuck and roll. The newest upgrade was from points to electric ignition with a flame-thrower coil.

Sometimes Callejera gets a little feisty and gives me trouble (and still needs a lot of work,) but my pride is that it’s a daily driver and carts around my precious family. My plans from here? Continue driving and learning more under the hood – and as the kids get older, they’ll hopefully both be in the garage with me!

3 thoughts on “Rosa and Callejera

  1. ROSA READING ABOUT YOUR CAR IS INSPIREING I LOVE CARS ALSO AND I AM SO EXCITED TO KEEP UP WITH ALL THE UPCOMING PROJECTS YOU HAVE PLANNED FOR CALLEJERA, KEEP UP THE GREATNESS !!! OH YEAH BY THE WAY TAKEING ME FOR A SPIN WOULD MAKE MY DAY!!

Leave a Reply

